I Am A Transwoman. I Am In The Closet. I Am Not Coming Out.

limerentlink:

webinarfantastic:

transkafka:

this made me cry, so i have to share it. i can’t tell you how much of this feels like it was about my childhood.

“Some nights, always alone, I go out in stolen makeup and women’s clothes with an ID I found in a lost wallet. I never feel more male than on these nights”

this has been fucking me up for a minute

there is too much that i want to quote here and not enough to convince you that this will be one of, if not the, most important pieces you will read this year.

“I hate that the only effective response I can give to “boys are shit” is “well I’m not a boy.” I feel like I am selling out the boy in baseball pajamas that sat with me on the bed while I tried to figure out which one I was supposed to be, and the boys who I have met and loved from inside my boy suit—who believed they were talking to a boy. I feel like I am burning the history of the naked body that sits on the floor of my shower. The body that went to prom in a boxy tuxedo and coveted the gowns.”

I Am A Transwoman. I Am In The Closet. I Am Not Coming Out.

Leave a comment